Proverbs 2 Thoughts

19 08 2010

what am I searching for like silver?

As I read Proverbs chapter 2, the first four verses stand out because of the action verbs in them.  The list includes accept, store up, listen, apply, call out, cry aloud, look for, and search.  The phrases, “store up my commands in your heart… call out for insight…cry aloud for understanding…look for it as for silver, and search for it as for hidden treasure” all seem to speak to the desperateness within the individual looking.  The object of the hunt is wisdom, but the interesting thing is where it leads.  Verse five says, “then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.”  The conceit given in these verses is once you desperately search for God you gain great insight about him

The insight gained is not given for us to be proud.  It is for us to realize how much we do not know.   It is like the old maxim, “The more I learn, the more I realize how little I know.”  Only, when that maxim is usually used, the speaker is referring to a finite idea, like math, english, or science.  However, when the maxim is applied to an infinite God, who is unsearchable by the human mind or heart, the seeker can become even more desperate to find more out about the creator.  That desperation can be (or should be) greater than the desperation of looking for your car keys when you are late for work.  The wisdom gained is to give us humility about ourselves and reverence toward God.

I want to be so desperate that I never get tired of seeking my Savior and trying to understand His grace towards me.  I want to be so in awe of the LORD that I am a little scared to learn more, because I know His “ways are higher than” my ways and His “thoughts are higher than” my ways.  I want to be one who seaches for wisdom like a hidden treasure (and not just my car keys).

Actions

Information

One response

21 08 2010
1bellastager

Ooh, I love it! Thanks for sharing your thoughts…very good stuff:)

Leave a Reply

