The Suprise of the New

26 07 2011

My wife is an amazingly gifted woman; she is an inspirational speaker, wonderful friend, and a terrific gift giver, etc.  One of her many talents is home decorating and staging.  Often, she will see a piece of our furniture, think of new ways to use it, and set about making the necessary changes to it.  She usually does this process while I am away at work or out with friends.  I’ve told her that I feel like one of those people on the re-styling shows (like Extreme Makeover: Home Edition- minus Ty and “the bus”).  I come home and find that the living room, one of the bedrooms, or the whole house has been changed.  Now, I don’t jump up and down like those contestants (not sure if that is the right term?), but I really like the changes that she makes.

Thinking about the work she does on our house, led me to think about how the Lord makes changes in our lives.  While there are several differences, there are some similarities as well.

The first similarity is relationship. I wouldn’t notice the changes that He makes without a relationship with Him.  The same goes for my wife, I would not see the changes she makes to our house without a relationship with her.

Another similarity is the element of suprise.  The Lord often changes my heart, my attitude, or my actions when I stop focusing on me and instead, start focusing on Him.  As one person put it, the spiritually mature are those who have almost forgotten about their own spirituality because their focus is so exclusively on their union with Jesus Christ and what He has accomplished are those who are growing and exhibiting fruitfulness.  The changes occur slowly as we look to Him, or as scripture says, “Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness and all these things will be given to you as well.”

As I have gotten to observe this summer, the changes my wife makes to our home involve several steps in a detailed process.  This is the final similarity, and in reality, one of the most freeing.  As believers in Jesus Christ, we each have been called to a new life.  This call enables us to change because we are moved from death to life.   The change takes place through the process of santification and may even take several years or even a lifetime.  However, the Lord is patient and helps us to grow.

I love it when the Jennifer suprises me by a change in our home.  She always improves our home, makes it more comfortable, or more homey (not like the clown)  I love it even more when the Lord “suprises” me with a change in my life.  Have any of you been suprised by the Lord’s work in your life?  Please share.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 07 2011
Collin

Homey the clown!! LOL
Jennifer is very talented, and you guys live in a Better Homes and Gardens-ish home!

26 07 2011
Jen

Greg, I love you & I’m glad that you don’t think I’m (too) crazy about always changing things around with some sweat equity 🙂

I love how you allow the Lord to work in your life, too.

Love,
Your wifey

PS Collin, you are super sweet & right back at ya!

Leave a Reply

