Wednesday’s Word of the Day

10 08 2011

I love words, like how they sound, what they mean, and what their origins are.

Since I love words, I decided to share a different word with you each Wednesday. I will include a word that I found interesting during the past week, the definition of the word, and any information about its origins that I can find.

Today’s word is supercilious.  Its primary definition is haughtily disdainful or contemptuous, as a person or a facial expression.   Simply put, a person who is supercilious believes they are superior to others.  This characteristic can manifest in facial expressions.  The latin is supercilium, which literally means eyebrow (i.e. an eyebrow raised to express arrogance).

While I like the sound of this word, I do not like that I have expressed this attitude in my life.  In fact, if I am entirely honest, this has been a default attitude of mine.  For example, an aquintance once told that me a shocking detail about himself.  I remember visibly moving back, displaying a look of shock with both eyebrows raised.  In that instant, I was suprised because I thought he was married, not because I was judging his actions.  Regardless of the reason, this gentleman and I still have some of the most awkward conversations.

At this point, I should say, now that I am aware of this attitude, I have asked the Lord to remind me of my own need for grace.  How about you?  Have you ever (purposefully or accidentally) displayed superciliousness?  

Actions

Information

4 responses

10 08 2011
Jennifer Poppy

I’m so glad you’re doing a word of the week…you love words, so it should be fun. I can’t promise I’ll start using them in my vocabulary, though. I like to keep mine to an 8th grade level…hahaha!

10 08 2011
Greg Poppy

Well, I should give you many opportunities to use this word. 😉

10 08 2011
Collin

I love the idea of a word of the week!
I should send you the vocabulary test that my dad made up. It’s very challenging. Everyone in the family took it.
I love the latin broken down version of the word–Super cilious “eyebrow” or hair above (I don’t know if you remember from science class or not, but the hairlike protrusions on some cells is called the cilia.)

Anyway, I’ll try to find that test and you’ll get a kick out of it.

10 08 2011
Greg Poppy

Thanks, Collin I sure I will love the test1

Leave a Reply

