Oswald and James

27 10 2011

I was reading My Utmost for His Highest for October 23, and it reminded me of a passage from James 2 that I studied on Sunday, the same date as the reading.  I had to share it, because I felt God bumps as I read.  In James, he writes that when we discriminate against each other we “become judges with evil thoughts.”  Oswald writes, ” Instead of God being on the side of our prejudices, He is deliberately removing them from us.”  He explains the method by which God rids us of our old selves,  by requiring “our unconditional surrender.”  It is by letting go of “the old life” and replace it with “simple trust in God, such trust that we no longer want God’s blessings, but only want God Himself.”
“Dear God, create a desire in us for You and You alone.  No one else, Nothing else, just you and you alone.  Amen.”
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

